Deacons and Elders


The session governs a particular congregation. It is made up of elders elected by the congregation, plus all the installed pastors on the staff, including pastors, co-pastors, and associate pastors. (G-10.0101)

The session is responsible for all decisions regarding the program and policies of its congregation, except for the two powers reserved for the congregation: the election of officers, including the pastoral staff, and the buying, selling, and/or mortgaging of church property. The constitution spells out 19 specific duties for the session. (G-10.0102, G-7.0304)

Source: PC(USA) Structure and Governing Bodies

Moderator — While we are between pastors, Session will be moderated by Commissioned Lay Pastor, Darryl McCollum
Clerk of Session — Jon Myers

D E P A R T M E N T S:
(some elders work with more than one team, and may be listed more than once)

— DeVonn Powers (Personnel / Communications)
— Carlos Flores (Communications)
— Vern Hance (Finance)
— David Stearns (Property Management)

— Ruth Stevenson (Outreach)
— Ruth Meja (Congregational Care)

Great Commission
— Susan Koester (Missions Team)
— Lee Borden (Worship and Music)

Spiritual Growth
— Jeremey Martin (Children / Youth / Adults)
— Matt Chapman (Leadership Development / Nominating)

Special Purpose Teams
— DeVonn Powers (1001 New Worshiping Communities)
— Jeremy Martin (FPCC Emergency Response Team)
— Matt Chapman (Housing Initiatives Team)
— Susan Koester (Pastor Nominating Committee)

Book of Order

The Book of Order is a governing document of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.). Download a copy here.

Deacons Ministry

Twelve Deacons serve staggered 3-year terms. Each Deacon ministers to a geographical neighborhood parish while serving on a committee to provide care and services to the church family.

The Book of Order calls ordained deacons to a ministry of “compassion, witness, and service, sharing in the redeeming love of Jesus Christ for the poor, the hungry, the sick, the lost, the friendless, the oppressed, those burdened by unjust policies or structures, or anyone in distress" (G-2.0201)

Moderator — Carrie Smith
Vice Moderator — Terry Jones
Secretary — Abby Ford

Special Deacon Assignments:

Prayer Support—Kathy Brock
Chancel—Kaffy Cecil
Memorials—Diane Nickerson
Prayer Chain— Carol Hance
Friends at Home—Beth Byrne

All Deacons:

— Sheila Frey
— Bev McHale
— Terry Jones
— Abby Ford
— Kaffy Cecil
— Charmaine Ferrera
— Beth Byrne
— Carol Hance
— Don Horgan
— Diane Nickerson


Four elected members responsible for the church’s real property. Serving staggered 3-year terms. They are responsible for acquisitions, sales, leases, contracts, and other legal documents relative to church property.

President — Frank Fribley
Vice President — Vern Hance
Secretary — Allen Nickerson
Trustee — Bill Selb